Skip to main content

Digital Services Act

The Digital Services Act (DSA) proposed by the European Commission on 15th December 2020, aims to provide consumers with greater protection against online illegal content, clarifying the liability rules that apply to intermediaries and ensuring a coherent approach at EU level across this area of the law.

Bite-Size Webinar Series and Blog

View our blogs

Join our international technology, outsourcing and privacy experts for the DSA bite-size series, where they will tackle the DSA proposal, analyse what these changes mean to your business and offer practical advice on how to prepare for the changes. 

The series will focus on the following key areas:

DSA bite-size session 1 – Background and introduction
Wednesday 31 March: 13:00 (CEST) | 12:00 (BST)

We will focus on the background context of the DSA proposal, and identify gaps which the DSA proposals seeks to tackle. It will provide an overview of the main changes, providing context for the following sessions.

A recording of the session is available to view here

DSA bite-size session 2 – Broader scope for intermediary services

Tuesday 13 April: 17:00 (CEST) | 16:00 (BST)

We will focus on the scope of the DSA proposal and identify the providers covered by this new regime, as well as analyse the major difference in scope with regards to the e-Commerce Directive and the UK position.

DSA bite-size session 3 -  The liability exemptions and the 'notice and action' mechanism
Wednesday 28 April: 13:00 (CEST) | 12:00 (BST)

You will learn how the DSA intends to modernise and improve the different liability exemptions that are currently included in the e-Commerce Directive and where legal uncertainties arise from new definitions such as 'platforms' . In addition, we will cover the revamped 'notice and action' mechanism which details the obligations for hosting service providers in relation to illegal content.

A recording of the session is available to view here

DSA bite-size session 4 -  The due diligence obligations
Wednesday 19 May – 13:00 (CEST) | 12:00 (BST)

We will cover due diligence and transparency obligations on intermediary services, hosting providers and online platforms, including "very large online platforms".


DSA bite-size session 5 – Enforcement

Thurs 27 May @ 13:30 GMT | 14:30 (CET)

In this session, you will learn what the proposed new sanction regime will be and how the enforcement role is split between national regulators and the European Commission.

A recording of the session is available to  view here

Each session will last 30 minutes and will include the opportunity for you to ask questions directly to each of our speakers. You can also submit your questions upon registering.