2015 UK Employee Ownership Award nominations open | Fieldfisher
Skip to main content

2015 UK Employee Ownership Award nominations open

It is time to submit nominations for the 2015 UK Employee Ownership Awards. Entries are free and made online. You may nominate any employee owned company including your own, or an employee owner, even It is time to submit nominations for the 2015 UK Employee Ownership Awards. Entries are free and made online. You may nominate any employee owned company including your own, or an employee owner, even yourself, for an award. Do you know an inspiring employee who deserves to be recognised as Employee Owner of the Year? Has your business delivered the product or service Innovation of the Year? If your company is new to employee ownership (since August 2012) can you claim the Rising Star award? If yours is a well-established employee owned company then why not put forward your claim to be the Employee Owned Business of the Year? And who will receive this year's Philip Baxendale Fellowship Award?

The deadline is 5pm Monday 14 September 2015. Some previous award winners are mentioned below along with the citations for each award to encourage you to make nominations for this year's awards.

Employee Owner of the Year
"This Award is to celebrate an individual, irrespective of their seniority and whether they operate on the front line of the business or not, who has done the most to promote and develop employee ownership inside an employee owned organisation"

In a new employee owned company, has one particular employee owner been inspirational in making employee ownership succeed? In an established company is it time to recognise one individual's commitment to EO? A previous Winner was Des Fitzgerald, the newly retired Head of Retail Operations, Waitrose, for his “inspirational role” in “leading by example”.

Innovation of the Year
"This Innovation Award is for the most compelling example of innovation within an employee owned organisation. The innovation must be currently enhancing the services and/or products of the business and the outcomes the business achieves"

Mark Steeple of Gripple Automation was the Winner in 2014 (when the award was an Employee Innovation Award). Mark Steeple, who had been at Gripple for 11 years and started as an apprentice trained engineer, had asked the question: “Why don’t we make our own machines?” As a hallmark of employee-ownership, Gripple invited Mark to submit a paper to the Board, the idea was signed off and a new business was born.

Rising Star of the Year
"This Award is to recognise the success of an organisation that has become employee owned no more than three years prior to September 2015. It is to celebrate a business that is already, in its early life, becoming an effective company with a very strong culture of employee ownership."

In 2014 the Winner was Mary Knowles Homecare Partnership Limited a start-up with employee ownership 

Employee Owned Business of the Year
"This Award, for well established employee owned businesses, focuses on brilliant performance in the sector. It is an Award that recognises the best all round performance of an employee owned company during the year to September 2015. The key criteria for this Award are outstanding achievements relating to services and/or products plus overall performance. Nominations for this Award are sought from all employee owned organisations very much including those delivering public services"

In 2014 the Winner was Circle Holdings plc (Circle Partnership) which  is an employee co-owned partnership with a social mission to make healthcare better for patients and forms the largest partnership of healthcare professionals in Europe.

The UK employee ownership sector awards were introduced nine years ago by Baxendale. Previously called the Philip Baxendale Awards, the UK Employee Ownership Awards are now managed by the Employee Ownership Association (EOA). Baxendale’s involvement continues as the sponsor for this year’s Awards which will be presented at the Gala Dinner on the first evening of the EOA Annual Conference on 23rd November at the Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel. The legacy of Philip Baxendale continues to be recognised through the Philip Baxendale Fellowship Award.

Philip Baxendale Fellowship Award
"This Award seeks nominations proposing a single individual who has in the past made or is currently making an outstanding contribution to the growth of employee ownership in the UK. The winner of this Award will be someone who has an indisputable commitment to employee ownership and whose influence and impact within the sector is clear and widely recognised"

Please note that previous winners of the Philip Baxendale Award have been: Stephen May, Graeme Nuttall, Margaret Elliot and Fred Bowden Snr. Therefore please do avoid nominations for any of these.

Nominations procedure
The process is simple. Please go to the nominations page on the EOA web site:

(a) Tell the EOA who you are
(b) Tell the EOA who you are nominating
(c) Tell the EOA which categor/ies you are nominating in
(d) Tell the EOA why you think you/they deserve the Award
(e) Submit your application online by the required deadline: 5pm Monday 14 September 2015


Sign up to our email digest

Click to subscribe or manage your email preferences.